Home » Black Lives Matter movement nominated for Nobel Peace Prize
General News

Black Lives Matter movement nominated for Nobel Peace Prize


A Norwegian member of parliament who nominated BLM says their work for racial justice has unfold world wide.

The Black Lives Matter motion has been nominated for the 2021 Nobel Peace Prize.

The civil rights group with an goal to finish white supremacy tweeted that it was nominated Friday for the award.

The Guardian reported that BLM was picked for an opportunity to win the prize as a result of its message of progress and equality has unfold worldwide.

Norwegian member of parliament Petter Eide additionally instructed USA At this time on Saturday that he nominated Black Lives Matter as a result of it is the “strongest power” within the U.S. in addition to Europe and Asia bringing ahead the motion for racial justice.

“Persons are waking as much as our world name: for racial justice and an finish to financial injustice, environmental racism, and white supremacy,” BLM tweeted.

The group began in 2013 in response to George Zimmerman’s acquittal within the taking pictures that killed unarmed Black teenager Trayvon Martin. Since, the motion has grown as police and different killings of Black folks have turn out to be extra outstanding, notably the demise of George Floyd final yr that ignited world protests and a reckoning with racism.

The 2020 Nobel Peace Prize was given to the UN’s World Meals Program. 

RELATED: Evaluating police reactions to Capitol rioters versus Black Lives Matter demonstrators

RELATED: The World Meals Program wins Nobel Peace Prize

RELATED: Secretary of State Mike Pompeo suggests President Trump ought to get Nobel Peace Prize

Eide, 61, famous the Nobel Committee’s previous recognition of the wrestle for tolerance with Martin Luther King Jr. being awarded the Peace Prize in 1964. 

The Nobel Prizes began from Alfred Nobel’s final will that gave the most important share of his fortune for a sequence of awards.

This yr’s winner will likely be picked in October, with the award ceremony set for Dec. 10.


Supply hyperlink

About the author


Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *