General News

Patriots head coach Bill Belichick says he will not accept the Presidential Medal of Freedom from Trump, ESPN reports

4725ad6b 5a0d 4a11 8989 5091554adba0 1140x641

NFL Insider Adam Schefter tweeted an announcement from Belichick wherein the coach mentioned he was “flattered,” to be nominated.

PORTLAND, Maine — New England Patriots head coach Invoice Belichick introduced Monday night time that he wouldn’t settle for the Presidential Medal of Freedom after being nominated by President Trump.

In an announcement reported by ESPN’s Adam Schefter, Belichick wrote:

“Lately I used to be supplied the chance to obtain the Presidential Medal of Freedom, which I used to be flattered by out of respect for what the dignity represents and admiration for prior recipients.

Subsequently, the tragic occasions of final week occurred and the choice has been made to not transfer ahead with the award.

Above all, I’m an American citizen with nice reverence for our nation’s values, freedom, and democracy. I do know I additionally signify my household and the New England Patriots group.

Some of the rewarding issues in my skilled profession befell in 2020 when, via nice management inside our group, conversations about social justice, equality, and human rights moved to the forefront and have become actions.

Persevering with these efforts whereas remaining true to the individuals, group, and nation I like outweigh the advantages of any particular person award.”

Rumors arose that Belichick was nominated for the award, however no file of the nomination exists on the “Information” part of the White Home web site.

See also  Gov. Mike DeWine announces vaccination rollout for Ohioans with severe congenital, developmental, or early onset medical conditions

Monday, the White Home introduced the President would award the Medal to Ohio Congressman Jim Jordan.

Belichick has received 311 video games with the Patriots, together with six Tremendous Bowls.

A number of members of Massachusetts’ Congressional delegation, together with Jim McGovern, Ed Markey, and Maura Healey known as for Belichick to say no the award, created by John F. Kennedy in 1963 and thought of the very best award given to a civilian.

Supply hyperlink

About the author


Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Your email address will not be published.