Home » Who voted against minimum wage increase?
General News

Who voted against minimum wage increase?

The Senate on Friday voted down an modification to President Joe Biden’s $1.9 trillion COVID-19 aid invoice that may have progressively raised the federal minimal wage from $7.25 per hour to $15 over 5 years. 

Senators voted 58-42 to kill the highest progressive precedence. Seven Democrats and one impartial who caucuses with Democrats voted towards that proposal, suggesting that Sen. Bernie Sanders, I-Vt., and different progressives vowing to proceed the trouble in coming months will face a tough struggle.

That vote started shortly after 11 a.m. EST and was not formally gaveled to an in depth till almost 12 hours later as Senate work floor to a halt amid the unemployment profit negotiations.

Had it handed, the annual wage for somebody working a full-time job on the federal minimal wage would have gone from $15,080 to $31,200. Some states already pay greater than $7.25 per hour for minimal wage.

Right here is of an inventory which senators voted in favor of the minimal wage hike (Yea) and people who voted towards (Nay), in response to the Senate web site.

Baldwin (D-WI), Yea
Barrasso (R-WY), Nay
Bennet (D-CO), Yea
Blackburn (R-TN), Nay
Blumenthal (D-CT), Yea
Blunt (R-MO), Nay
Booker (D-NJ), Yea
Boozman (R-AR), Nay
Braun (R-IN), Nay
Brown (D-OH), Yea
Burr (R-NC), Nay
Cantwell (D-WA), Yea
Capito (R-WV), Nay
Cardin (D-MD), Yea
Carper (D-DE), Nay
Casey (D-PA), Yea
Cassidy (R-LA), Nay
Collins (R-ME), Nay
Coons (D-DE), Nay
Cornyn (R-TX), Nay
Cortez Masto (D-NV), Yea
Cotton (R-AR), Nay
Cramer (R-ND), Nay
Crapo (R-ID), Nay
Cruz (R-TX), Nay
Daines (R-MT), Nay
Duckworth (D-IL), Yea
Durbin (D-IL), Yea
Ernst (R-IA), Nay
Feinstein (D-CA), Yea
Fischer (R-NE), Nay
Gillibrand (D-NY), Yea
Graham (R-SC), Nay
Grassley (R-IA), Nay
Hagerty (R-TN), Nay
Hassan (D-NH), Nay
Hawley (R-MO), Nay
Heinrich (D-NM), Yea
Hickenlooper (D-CO), Yea
Hirono (D-HI), Yea
Hoeven (R-ND), Nay
Hyde-Smith (R-MS), Nay
Inhofe (R-OK), Nay
Johnson (R-WI), Nay
Kaine (D-VA), Yea
Kelly (D-AZ), Yea
Kennedy (R-LA), Nay
King (I-ME), Nay
Klobuchar (D-MN), Yea
Lankford (R-OK), Nay
Leahy (D-VT), Yea
Lee (R-UT), Nay
Lujan (D-NM), Yea
Lummis (R-WY), Nay
Manchin (D-WV), Nay
Markey (D-MA), Yea
Marshall (R-KS), Nay
McConnell (R-KY), Nay
Menendez (D-NJ), Yea
Merkley (D-OR), Yea
Moran (R-KS), Nay
Murkowski (R-AK), Nay
Murphy (D-CT), Yea
Murray (D-WA), Yea
Ossoff (D-GA), Yea
Padilla (D-CA), Yea
Paul (R-KY), Nay
Peters (D-MI), Yea
Portman (R-OH), Nay
Reed (D-RI), Yea
Risch (R-ID), Nay
Romney (R-UT), Nay
Rosen (D-NV), Yea
Rounds (R-SD), Nay
Rubio (R-FL), Nay
Sanders (I-VT), Yea
Sasse (R-NE), Nay
Schatz (D-HI), Yea
Schumer (D-NY), Yea
Scott (R-FL), Nay
Scott (R-SC), Nay
Shaheen (D-NH), Nay
Shelby (R-AL), Nay
Sinema (D-AZ), Nay
Smith (D-MN), Yea
Stabenow (D-MI), Yea
Sullivan (R-AK), Nay
Tester (D-MT), Nay
Thune (R-SD), Nay
Tillis (R-NC), Nay
Toomey (R-PA), Nay
Tuberville (R-AL), Nay
Van Hollen (D-MD), Yea
Warner (D-VA), Yea
Warnock (D-GA), Yea
Warren (D-MA), Yea
Whitehouse (D-RI), Yea
Wicker (R-MS), Nay
Wyden (D-OR), Yea
Younger (R-IN), Nay

Supply hyperlink

About the author


Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *